HomeGeneralMerging ChangesetsWhat are 'Partially Integrated Changesets'?

5.11. What are 'Partially Integrated Changesets'?

When merging changes using Quick Merge or Workspace Merge you are asked to select the changesets you want to merge. Typically these changesets will have the status 'Not Integrated' - meaning the changeset has not been merged into the destination stream. Sometimes a changeset will have the status 'Partially Integrated'.

Partially Integrated means that some of the file changes within the changeset have been merged but some of the file changes have not. For example, suppose I submit a changeset (change1) in my Version1 stream with changes to file1.txt and file2.txt. If I perform a workspace merge in my Version2 workspace, change1 appears as 'Not Integrated'. After selecting change1 in the Workspace Merge Wizard the 2 files are checked out and the edits applied in my workspace. I then decide that the changes in file2.txt do not apply to the Version2 stream so I revert file2.txt. I submit the changes to file1.txt in my Version2 workspace.

If I perform a workspace merge in my Version2 workspace, change1 now appears as 'Partially Integrated'. After selecting change1 in the Workspace Merge Wizard only file2.txt is checked out and the edits applied - because the file1.txt changes have already been merged. In this case if I want to get rid of the 'Partially Integrated' status - so change1 does not appear in the list at all - I should go the file history, restore the file back to its previous revision (so it is checked out without any changes) and submit the empty edit.

The 'Partially Integrated' status often appears when the changeset contains edits to files which do not appear in the destination stream. So in the example above if the Version2 stream did not contain the file file2.txt, then change1 will always appear as partially integrated.

It is typical practice therefore to ignore the changesets which are 'Partially Integrated' when selecting which changesets to merge. It generally means that the changeset has already been merged - but for one reason or another the merge did not include all file changes.

This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful