HomeGUI clientResolve ToolWhat is the 'Resolve Tool'?

4.1. What is the 'Resolve Tool'?

The Resolve Tool allows you to merge multiple changes to the same file.

For example, suppose you are working on 'file1.txt'. Another user submit a change which also edits 'file1.txt'. When you 'Update to Latest' in the workspace the Resolve Tool will be launched allowing you to merge your file1.txt changes with the submitted changes. Note that this is necessary because your changes will be lost if the 'Update to Latest' simply copies the new version of file1.txt to your workspace.

The Resolve Tool shows the file you are trying to integrate in the top-left, the local file in the top-right and the new merged file at the bottom. When you press the 'Save' button the merged file at the bottom will overwrite your local file.

The Resolve Tool will automatically merge changes on separate lines. So if you have changed line1 and you are integrating a change to line10 then the Resolve Tool will automatically apply your change to line1 and the new change to line10. So the merged file at the bottom will contain both edits by default. If you want to override this behaviour then you can double-click the change you want to be included in the merged file. So for example if you did not want the line10 changes to be included you would double-click line10 in your local file (i.e. the top-right window with the original line10). The merged file will then be updated to not include the changes for line10.

The lines in the merged window are coloured according to where the line has been merged from. If the line is purple then it is a local change (top-right window). If the line is yellow then it is a server change (top-left window). If the line is grey then it has been changed both locally and on the server, but it is the same change.

If the same line has been changed locally and on the server then this will cause a conflict. A conflict will appear as empty red lines in the merged window. The resolve tool will not allow you to save your changes until all conflicts have been resolved. You can resolve the conflict by double-clicking on the line you want to use (top-left window for server changes or top-right for local changes). The merged window will then contain this line and the conflict will be resolved.

Note that you can always left-click into the merged window and edit the file directly. Edited lines are indicated by a small yellow arrow in the edited line margin.

This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful