HomeDeveloper WorkspaceGeneralWhat does Check Consistency do?

1.2. What does Check Consistency do?

Check consistency is a way to make sure that PureCM has detected all of the changes you have made in your workspace. Check consistency is available from all PureCM clients (GUI, Visual Studio, command line & explorer etc) and is launched from different places but always gives the same options.

New Files

If new files is checked PureCM will look for files inside your workspace that it does not yet control. This can be useful when you have created a new file but have not added it to PureCM. As you often can have many files in a workspace which you do not which to control (such as debug object files etc) you are given the option to provide different filters.

Include Filters - This allows you limit which types of files are found by the consistency check. If you know you only modify *.cpp and *.xml then it can help to limit the number of files found to the ones you are interested in.

Exclude Filters - The exclude filters allow you to exclude specific file types or directories. It can often be useful to exclude debug directories as this will speed up the running time of the consistency check.

Edited Files

If edited files is checked PureCM will look for controlled files which have changed from the server version but have not been checked out. This can be useful when you work in a writable workspace or in an enviroment that does not have a PureCM plugin.

Missing Files

If missing files is checked PureCM will look for files which have been deleted on disk but have not been deleted from PureCM. If any of these files are found you will be given the option to either recreate these files from the server or to delete them from PureCM.

Unchanged Files

If unchanged files is checked PureCM will look for checked out files which have not been modified. This is useful for when you check out a file but then undo the change or if you check out a folder of files and don't change all of them.

Readonly Files

If readonly files is checked PureCM will look for checked out files that are read only. This will make sure that the files are set back to writable.

Writable Files

If writable files is checked PureCM will look for files which are writable but have not been modified or checked out. This will change them back to read only. note this will not be available from writable workspaces.

Quick Check

If quick check is selected PureCM will use a files modification time to determine if a file has been modified. This will significantly speed up the running time of the consistency check but may miss some changes. If this is not selected then each file will be compared against the server version.

This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful