HomeGeneralSecurity/PolicysetsCan I prevent users from seeing certain respositories?

12.1. Can I prevent users from seeing certain respositories?

If a user does not have read permission for the repository then the repository will not appear. We use this so developers do not have access to the company accounts for example.

The file permissions determine who can read/add/edit/delete files/folders in a stream. Note that if a user does not have read permission for a folder/file then the file(s) will not be downloaded into the workspace.

When you create a stream it will default to inheriting it's file permissions from the parent (the stream folder or repository). So generally you set the file permissions for the repository and all streams use these permissions.

Note that you can set file permissions for a repository, stream folder, stream, folder or specific file. So you can create some sophisticated permissions if required.

For example we have our repository permissions allowing Developers to edit files. But in the 'Release' stream folder we override the permissions so only 'Lead Developers' can edit files.

We use the 'repository administration' policyset to allow users to add or delete repositories. The idea is that an Administrators can add or delete repositories but will not necessarily be able to edit the files (typically it is Developers who can edit files).

This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful