HomeDeveloper WorkspaceCreating a WorkspaceWhy are all my files checked out when creating a workspace?

2.2. Why are all my files checked out when creating a workspace?

Typically you will create a workspace in a new location. In this case PureCM will download all the workspace files and there will be no files checked out.

If you create a workspace in a directory where the files already exist then PureCM will automatically checkout the files which exist. Note that PureCM does not overwrite your local files. It checks them out to show that they have been changed. You can then revert these edits if the changes are not relevant (e.g. creating a workspace over an old workspace where the files were not deleted).

Note that if you do not revert these changes, it is very dangerous to submit the edits. If you make some changes without a workspace and then create a workspace using these files - any changes submitted between you getting the initial files and creating the workspace will be lost.

We therefore strongly recommens that you always create a workspace in a new location.

This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful